top of page

The curriculum overview

If students are to have agency over their learning, they need a framework of competencies and learning domains to help guide their learning journeys.

In the concept-based curriculum model presented in the links below, student competencies are divided into cognitive competence (understanding) and executive competence (acting).

Cognitive competence is understanding the self, others and systems. Executive competence is the ability to source knowledge and form social alliances to actively meet identified personal and societal needs.

In the model, the competencies are linked to three overarching learning domains broken down into ten learning areas. Where competencies and domains intersect, teachers and students develop concepts, understandings and skills to be acquired through a combination of inquiry learning and explicit teaching.

The ten learning areas
The 10 learning areas.JPG

The following links lead to more details about each aspect of the model.

bottom of page